Date #29: “Animated Faux”

How We Met: On What’s Your Price.  He “winked” at me maybe a week ago and we’ve been talking a bit since.  I was surprised that he agreed to it because I set my price fairly high (I think) for this particular date ($100).  I’m not into old guys whatsoever and this guy is 49, so I price myself high for oldies in order to see who is really committed.  Anyways, I’m gonna start this off by being 100% honest and admitting that the #1 motivation for me to even go on this date was the $100 price tag.  Since I’m on a bit of a hiatus at my job, I figured why not make some extra cash.  Can you blame a girl?  So I went on this date with my eye on the target…the $100.

-Rating:

*Physical Aesthetics: 8 (for an old dude)

*Appearance: 6 (dressed like an old dude…I guess that’s expected)

*Personality: 6

*Manners: 6 & 9 (I’ll explain)

*Intelligence: 9

*Confidence: 4 & 10 (I’ll explain this as well)

*Overall Rating: 6

The Date: So I am still pretty upset about this, and there’s a reason why I prefaced this post by talking about the money….HE DIDN’T FUCKING GIVE ME THE MONEY!!!!  Yes, I know, this makes me sound like a total materialistic bitch, but the whole point of What’s Your Price is going on a date and being paid at the end.  It’s the deal.  In fact, the website even says you can take someone to small claims court if they don’t give you the money because it’s a written agreement.  Anyways…on to the actual date.

I really didn’t want to go on this date.  I really don’t like older men.  Once upon a time when I was a child (like literally, elementary school and middle school), I always thought older men were so attractive.  When I grew up and actually started dating, I realized how much I like guys my own age.  It just makes sense.  So I was already not wanting to go on this date.  Plus he was having me drive almost an hour away just to go on the date and I didn’t want to drive that far.  Luckily, it started snowing the night before so I thought I could use the excuse that I didn’t want to drive that far in the snow and what not.  Unfortunately, the roads ended up not being bad whatsoever the next day so I had to keep my word and go on the date.

I get to the restaurant and apparently he had already told the hosts who I was and that I was meeting him because I get there and they already know who I’m meeting.  They take me to the table where he is waiting.  Looked exactly like he did in his profile pictures.  He initially started off as a really cool guy and we had lots to talk about.  Theater, traveling, food, working out…the conversation flowed very nicely!  Plus the food was delicious, so that most definitely added to the date.  On a random side note, at one point he had mentioned that he was a Scorpio and he asked if that went well with Geminis.  If you read my previous post about Geminis, you’ll know I know a bit about/have a fascination with astrological signs.  So of course I knew that although a Scorpio and a Gemini is not a classical pairing, it can work.  But was I about to tel him that?  Nope.  So I acted like I had never encountered a Scorpio before (Mr. Big (Present) is one).  The one thing that was different about this date in comparison to all the other What’s Your Price dates I’ve been on is that we actually talked about that website itself.  I made up a half lie saying that my friend thought I would enjoy that website (true).  I left out the part that I’m writing a blog about dating and need some victims dates to write about.  He joined the website because he said that older women couldn’t keep up with him and that he needed someone who wasn’t boring.  Initially, I had a feeling that maybe he was gay because of his mannerisms (extremely animated) and the way he said things (very effeminate).  But I think everyone is gay (I love gay men) so I’m sure I’m just crazy.  Anyways, I honestly thought the date would be done after lunch since that was the plan.  But then he told me that he wanted the date to continue even though he didn’t have anything else planned (I guess usually he plans out a whole day because, in his words, “he’s a romantic”, but the last girl he went on a date with didn’t like what he planned last time and she was close to my age, so he didn’t plan anything for this date).  Since my price for this was $100, I figured what the hell, I might as well just do it.  We ended up just going to a Starbucks and getting tea.  In my opinion, this is where things started going downhill.

So we got tea and he suggested we sit in this lounge area located in the corner of the Starbucks.  I chose the single person couch because I wasn’t feeling very well and I didn’t want him to be super close to me.  I had noticed at lunch he was scooting  closer to me even though I wasn’t give him any indication that’s what I wanted.  So although I picked the single person couch, he managed to find a way to move closer to me, to the point that I was really uncomfortable.  This is why I gave him the rating I did for manners.  I have a bubble, and I don’t want anyone in it…unless I give very clear, blatant signals that you can join me in my bubble.  I tried moving further away, but that’s not really possible in a single person couch.  We started talking about what we enjoy doing on weekends nights, and of course I enjoy going out to the bars with my friends like many people in their mid-twenties.  He more so enjoys low-key things, such as dinner and dancing (but not at clubs, at old people places).  It was here when I realized that he is one of those older gentleman who are trying to act much younger than his age, hence why I gave him the rating I did for confidence.  He told me he could tell I liked dancing and that I must go to a lot of dance clubs.  And of course, I do.  But the places I mentioned and the places that he mentioned were vastly different.  He talked a lot about going out, and he made it sound like he’s all about going out, but I could tell we had a different idea of what “going out” meant.  He definitely was trying to compete with me, saying that he goes out late and stays out late and really knows how to party.  Then I made the comment that it’s a bit tacky to watch older folk out at the bars late at night, acting crazier than the younger kids.  That definitely made him think a bit.  The funny thing is he said that he joined the website to find girls to keep up with him, yet there is no way this old man could have ever kept up with me.  Not sure if he ever thought about it the other way around.  The conversation pretty much declined after this.  I wasn’t feeling well (probably self-inflicted since I didn’t want to be there with him anymore) so we cut our date shortly after getting tea.

And the kicker….he walked  me to my car, said he had a great time, and left.  You’re probably wondering what’s wrong with that…NO OFFER OF MONEY WHATSOEVER!!  Every other guy I’ve been on a date with from that website has given me the money at the end of the date, no questions or reminders needed.  So I was pretty perturbed that he didn’t even try to give me anything or say he had no intentions of paying.  About 5 minutes later, when I’m already kind of upset that I had spent all that time and driven almost an hour away from where I live for this date, I get a phone call from him.  I try not to talk on the phone and drive at the same time (driving stick keeps all my limbs busy…I just can’t multitask like that), so I let it go to voice mail.  I listened to the voice mail and it was about the money.  He said that he was really sorry that he had completely forgotten about it and that if we went out again, he would be sure to have the money for me then.  He kept apologizing and then said something about “he wishes me well.”  And while maybe he did legitimately forget about the money, it just seemed all too convenient for him to not give me the money this time in order to assure a second date.

*Positives: Very nice older man, very smart, is very cultured so he has a bunch to talk about, kept conversation going the entire time

*Negatives: He didn’t give me my money, he’s definitely fake in the sense that he’s trying to act a lot younger than his age, he entered my bubble a little too much, he kept creepily staring at me even though it was clear I was not reciprocating those feelings, he could not ever, ever, ever keep up with me, he’s old

Second Date?: Unlikely.  Even the promise of $100 couldn’t get me to go on another date with this guy.  I think I’ve had my fill of older men to last me a lifetime.

16 thoughts on “Date #29: “Animated Faux”

  1. Yeah I love when old people try to act like they still party it up like they did in their 20s. I still have you beat on bad dates though!

  2. This made me angry to read… the guy is a CREEP (he is probably too old for me and I am nearly his age). He is a manipulator and that is why he targets younger women (because he thinks they can’t see the BS). But unfortunately when you are younger – you are trusting and don’t know how to handle these situations. Good girl for listening to your instincts. Report him to the website (cut your loses, as you don’t want to have anything more to do with him)…. I am being all motherly here, I don’t like the sound of this website (did anyone else know where you were going with this guy?) – be careful, don’t go anywhere unplanned with anyone!!! 😦

    • Okay hold up….you are NOT nearly his age!! There is NO way!! You don’t look like it at all!!! I honestly thought you were around my age!! =) And if indeed you are as old as you say you are, I want your secrets so I can stay looking young forever!!!

      Thank you for being so concerned!! 🙂 Normally I do let someone know if I am going on a date with people from this website, but unfortunately my normal contact was in NY so I couldn’t let her know. Yeah this guy was definitely a creep and clearly manipulative. I never called him or texted him back after he left me the voice mail so hopefully he took that as a hint and doesn’t try contacting me again. Thank you again for your concern, I will definitely try to pick and choose better next time. 🙂 This was the first from the website who was weird like that, and I’ve gone on 4 dates (including him) from it, so maybe he was just a bad apple?

    • lol Oh Georgie, going on a date with you and going on a date with a stranger are two different things. BTW, let’s plan this shit, I’ve only got two more months to reach 50, dammit!! (I was going to put a winky face here, but I don’t want you getting the wrong idea…)

  3. I think he knew for damn sure what he was doing in not giving you the $100, especially if you guys talked about the website during the date.

  4. Wow, I’ve never heard of a dating website like this! Well, definitely does not sound like your man. Forget the second date!! :S

    Btw, thanks for the follow, hun 🙂 I hope you will leave a 10-word-or-less description of your blog on my new page here: http://yourdailydoseblog.com/2012/10/11/a-page-dedicated-to-my-readers-your-blogs-please-help-me-finish-it-by-describing-your-blog-in-10-words-or-less/ so ppl will know what your blog is about! Thanks!

    • Haha yeah I hadn’t heard about it either until my friend mentioned it back in March!! And I will most definitely not being doing a second date, I’ll forfeit the money gladly!!

      You’re welcome!! I will most definitely leave a description on your page!! 🙂 I should be recording a cover soon so I’ll let you know when that’s up as well!!

And your thoughts on this....

