Date #19: “Doc”

How We Met:  We met last weekend at a bar that I frequent through a friend of a friend.  In all honesty, I wasn’t even wanting to go out that night because I had a busy work day the next day and all I wanted to do was go to sleep.  But I sucked it up, slapped on some makeup, made myself somewhat presentable, and went out.  The majority of the people I was meeting up with were not there yet, so when I got to the bar I only knew two people.  After getting a (free) drink from “Boss Man”, I went back to the group and started randomly talking to “Doc”.  Honestly, he seemed like the only person in the group who wasn’t ridiculously fucked up, so of course I was drawn to him.  We tried talking a bit, but it was extremely loud (duh, it’s a busy bar on a Friday night, what else do you expect?).  I did find out that he had just finished Med school and moved back 3 weeks ago to do his residency at a local hospital.  We were all supposed to go to the next bar together, but him and 3 other people decided to go one way, and me and the others decided to go another.  Before we parted ways, we exchanged numbers and I gave him a kiss on the cheek.  =)

-Rating:

*Physical Aesthetics: 9

*Appearance: 10

*Personality: 8

*Manners: 10

*Intelligence: 10

*Confidence: 7

*Overall Rating: 9

The Date: To be honest, I didn’t think I’d hear from “Doc”.  I don’t know why…nothing bad had happened, but I just didn’t think he’d actually talk to me again.  But Monday rolled around and I got a text from him asking if I wanted to go out on Tuesday for some drinks.  And of course I said yes!!!  I’m not partial to blondes (and even that is an understatement), but I thought he was extremely attractive and seemed like a really nice guy so I was excited to go out with him.  On a side note: this whole attraction to blonde guys is very new to me.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve slept with blonde guys in the past, but a couple of years ago I lost interest in them all-together.  I can still find a blonde attractive, but I usually was never interested in them (to all the blonde ladies out there that read my blog: this “prejudice” against blondes is only for men, not you lovely ladies!!).  And then I started reading The Hunger Games.  And fell in love with Peeta (yes, I am aware that I am  in love with a fictional character).  And he just happens to be blonde.  I really think this is where my attraction to blonde men began again.  Sad, but true.

Anyways, back to my date.  So I was a complete jackass and was 30 minutes (if not more) late.  And I am NEVER late.  For anything.  It really wasn’t my fault though, two lanes of the highway right off the on-ramp were shut down due to an accident, which left everyone merging into one lane.  I felt awful, considering this was our first date and the fact that we barely knew each other.  Luckily (for me), he was completely understanding and wasn’t mad at me whatsoever.  I ordered drinks and we started chatting.

The conversation was great, we talked about everything from college (we got our undergrad at the same university) to traveling, to music, and even driving in traffic.  We had a LOT in common, from judging people we date based on whether they drive a stick or an automatic (I just feel like men should inherently know how to drive a manual) to loving The Beatles more than The Rolling Stones.  I was actually extremely surprised how much we had in common.  We even both proclaimed our nerdiness and how much we both love reading nerdy books.  We talked a lot about our jobs and what it is we want to do in the future.  I was extremely fascinated and impressed with the fact that someone so young (he’s not even a year older than me) could be so driven and passionate about a career choice that just seems, to me at least, to be so out of reach.  I mean, when I think doctor, I don’t think of a 20-something-year-old…I think more of an older person.  But I guess this just shows that I’m getting older, and unfortunately not doing much with my life.

We ended up just staying at this restaurant that we were at for the rest of the night, with a couple of drinks, enjoying the nice weather on the patio.  I offered to pay, especially because I felt so bad about being so late, but he took the bill right away and wouldn’t even let me look at it.  At the end of the night, he walked me to my car like a gentleman would, we maybe kissed a little (…more than a little, who am I kidding) and called it a night.

Honestly, “Doc” is everything a girl would want.  He’s handsome, he’s a true gentleman (he’s from the South, so completely polite in every sense of the word), he’s going to be a doctor in a few years, he has great taste in music, treated me like a fucking princess, can balance being the party boy with staying at home and keeping it calm.  But was I feeling it with him….not really.  :-/  Gosh, I wanted to SO badly…like, very much so.  But I feel like I’m in this weird funk with guys right now…I’m not sure how I feel about them at all.  Of course I love all my guy friends – always will no matter what.  Though when it comes to guys and dating, I’m just not sure.  I don’t hate them, like I previously stated in an earlier entry of mine…I just don’t know how to feel right now.

So I’ve decided that I am completely fucked up and something is wrong with me.  Who the hell wouldn’t be head over heels for a guy who is practically perfect in every sense of the word and treats a lady the way she deserves to be treated??  This girl.  Don’t get me wrong, I have every intention of hanging out with “Doc” again (his birthday is next week and he wants me to come out with him) and I do want to try dating him, because he is everything I want in a guy.  But I just wasn’t feeling any sparks; none of those butterflies you get when you truly like someone.  And I so badly wanted to feel that way.  =(

*Positives: Gosh, what’s NOT amazing about him?  He’s super handsome, has a great career ahead of him, has great taste in music, loves to travel, is super smart, well versed, a true Southern gentleman, loves whiskey (nothing like a man who loves whiskey…=)), he’s athletic,  knows how to balance partying and not partying, is great to converse with, is a bit of a nerd, clearly has enough patience for me to sit there for 30 minutes and wait for my late ass, and is practically my idea of a perfect guy.  He truly is a keeper.

*Negatives: He’s blonde, he’s a bit on the short side (which I guess isn’t saying much because I’m practically a midget..not really, but you get the idea), he was a bit shy/nervous (at least I felt he was), and I’m an idiot for not falling head over heels for him.  =(

Second Date?: Yes, yes, yes!!  We already discussed having to watch some nerdy movies together and hanging out again so I have no doubt in my mind that there will be a second date.  But the only problem is….will I fall for him??  He’s perfect for me (in theory), but why does my heart not agree with my mind…

4 thoughts on “Date #19: “Doc”

  1. Yay! I’m excited you met a guy who sounds good! It’s okay to give yourself time with this guy! You don’t have to decide right away with him. You can always take it slow while working through the man funk, and if he’s a good guy he will be fine taking things slow. One of the love advice authors I actually really like has this advice on chemistry: http://lovein90days.com/six-tips-to-spark-chemistry-with-a-good-man/ However, if you just have a gut feeling that something isn’t quite clicking, follow your gut! I read your most recent post too, and if there is another guy (gah, cliffhanger!), then go for the other guy! Also, you are young and you are doing a lot with your life!

    • Thank you, I’m excited too!! We’re actually doing date #2 tomorrow so we’ll see how that goes!! Also, thanks for the link, I will definitely have to check it out. And there are always cliffhangers in my love life, even before I started this blog haha 😉

And your thoughts on this....

