Random: International Love

Hello everyone!!  Sorry for not having written in awhile, I’ve been out of the country the past couple of days.  But now I am back and have come up with a random topic that I think everyone can relate to in one way or another….foreign men.

Now, I am speaking as a woman who was brought up in the U.S. of A.  I’m not sure if the same can be said of women from other countries, but I know that us ladies from the U.S. LOVE foreign men.  I’m not sure if there is an exact reason to the appeal of men who are not from the States, but we are most definitely drawn to them….the way they look, their accent, the fact that they sometimes appear to be so innocently lost when here in the U.S….just EVERYTHING!!  I don’t think I know one girl from the States who does not find foreign men attractive.  There’s just something about them that us ladies are so attracted to….if there was such thing as a love potion that made a woman instantaneously fall in love with a man, I’d say a foreign man is equivalent to that with ladies from the U.S.!!

The funniest thing about this situation is that there are times where these foreign men aren’t even considered attractive in their own country, yet when they enter the States…..BAM!!  They’re the hottest thing to hit the U.S. since Justin Bieber (hahaha I love the kid, not gonna lie!!).  This same incident happened when I was a freshman in college and we had two Englishmen living in our dorms; all us ladies thought they were so sexy!  Don’t get me wrong, they were attractive, but apparently they didn’t get as much attention (nor pick up as many ladies) back home in England as they did in the States.  It’s insane to think of just how attracted us U.S. women are to these foreign men.

Um YES!!!

Now, when I say foreign, I don’t mean men of different racial backgrounds other than one’s own…I mean legit foreign.  Like, did not grow up in the States, has never lived in the States, has an accent from another country, can fluently speak another (if not more than one) language, has the mannerisms and demeanor of one who is not from the States, etc.  I don’t consider an Asian guy (for example…and I can say this because I am Asian, but this is obviously applicable to any ethnic man residing here in the States) who grew up in the States, who has never lived outside of the States, who MAYBE speaks his native language, but has never used it in his native country, who was born in the States, etc. a foreigner.  A foreigner breaks every U.S. fashion faux pas, may have some difficulty understanding U.S. customs, may ask a lot of “dumb” questions, may be syntactically incorrect many times….all while still remaining sexy as fuck.

What is our attraction to these insatiable, alluring men?  Is it the fact that they’re completely and utterly mysterious in the sense that they can barely speak the same language as us, let alone understand what we’re saying half the time?  Is it the fact that we most likely never have to deal with knowing exact details of their past (a.k.a. bumping into ex girlfriends, family issues, etc.) since their lives exist in a country so far away?  Or is it because the idea of foreign men being so scrumptious was instilled into our brains at such a young age by our mothers, aunts, grandmothers who watched soap operas with exotic foreign men??

All I know is that I find foreign men extremely attractive, and have my own personal list of foreign men I’d like a chance with:

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugese)
  • Gerard Butler (Scottish)
  • Colin Farrell (Irish)
  • Jonathan Rhys Meyers (Irish)
  • Heath Ledger (Australian)
  • Alexander Skarsgard (Swedish)
  • Jude Law (English)
  • Seal (English)
  • Enrique Iglesias (Spanish)

The list is much longer than this, but these are just a few of the ones I truly love.

=)

4 thoughts on “Random: International Love

  1. Hmmm I don’t know. I don’t always find myself attracted to foreign men. In fact, when I was in Sweden, I HATED the Swedish guys, for the most part. I think it’s because I’m more of a tomboy, so foreign men tend to find me a little repulsive and they’re too “pretty” for me. Not always the case, but yea. However, there are some foreign men that are beautiful! 🙂

    • It’s funny that you say that they’re too “pretty” for you, because I’m honestly not a fan of “pretty” boys…I like a guy’s guy for sure. But for some reason, when it comes to foreign men, I completely throw my “guy’s guy” ideal out the door and head straight for them. Haha. And I’m sure they do NOT find you repulsive!!!

  2. awesome observation! maybe because foreign men have not yet lost their spunk and still approach “the ladies”?? or maybe it’s the desire to know the unknown (like Christopher Columbus)

    • You know, I never thought about that, but you might just be right, especially about approaching women!!! Those foreign men most definitely do not shy away from approaching women, ever, and that is very attractive!! =) I also love the Christopher Columbus reference!!

And your thoughts on this....

