Date #10: “Booze Talker”

How We Met: It’s actually a sweet little story as to how we met.  I was a freshman in high school and “Booze Talker” was a sophomore.  One day at lunch, he randomly came and sat down at my table and introduced himself to all us ladies at the table.  We’ve been friends since then.  We had choir together and often hung out then, but after high school we lost touch, until just recently when he moved back to the area after graduating college.  I had always thought he was attractive, but I never pursued anything really.  This is technically not our first date by any means (at least I’ve been told it’s not…it’s complicated), but our first since I’ve started this blog.

-Rating:

*Physical Aesthetics: 7

*Appearance: 7-8

*Personality: 6

*Manners: 7

*Intelligence: 5-6

*Confidence: 6-7

*Overall Rating: 7

The Date:  It went well and a lot  better than I thought really.  Like I said previously, I have gone out with “Booze Talker” before I had started this blog, and it’s usually one of the most uncomfortable things ever.  Don’t get me wrong, he’s a nice guy and I do enjoy hanging out with him.  But he usually directs many sexual innuendos towards me and all I can think is, “WTF…”  He’s also very short (he says 5’5″ but I’m pretty sure he really means 5’3″ or shorter), so he most definitely has a Napolean complex.  I recall the last time we hung out I had sarcastically made some comment about his drug use and he got VERY upset.  And it wasn’t just upset about the situation…you could tell it was related to “short man syndrome.”  He kept telling me that he was going to take me out if I didn’t stop and honestly…I just kept going.  I’m a bitch and I thought it was funny to get him all upset.  Finally he calmed down, but after that I most definitely thought something was definitely wrong with him.

So I was most definitely apprehensive that the date would go as it has previously gone in the past with him trying to play the “macho” card due to his complex and spitting out sexual innuendos towards me.  I was happily surprised when he was actually calm and apparently on his best behavior.  We went to my favorite bar/restaurant and just had some drinks and caught up on life.  The sexual innuendos were to a very minimum (I think he only said 2 things, but then we both laughed afterwards) and he didn’t get all Napolean complexy on me.  Thank god.  You know, I never understood why it is that short men can have a Napolean complex but short women (such as myself) usually relish in it.  Weird.  Anyhoo…a big part of why I think he used to act that way towards me is because I think he may have liked me for a bit and was trying to impress me (most definitely didn’t work).  But I think he’s over that because he even asked me if I was dating anyone and told me about his weekend in where he made-out with some random girl.  It’s most definitely a relief to know he does not have any interest in me anymore…I think it really livens up our situation and keeps things from getting awkward.

The one thing he did not stray from, however, is his penchant for talking about partying, drinking, and drug use non-stop.  Seriously…that’s really the only thing he can talk about on a consistent basis.  Now, I know that many dates or just conversations in general with people in their 20’s usually consists of one of those topics every so often.  But “Booze Talker” could talk about this for days.  He told me how this past weekend he had taken some form of THC that was so strong that he was high for days.  I think his story lasted the majority of the night.  If a person didn’t know better, just based on the things he talks about (partying, drinking, and drugs), you’d think all he did with his life was get really fucked up every single day.  It’s really sad and pathetic, and makes me think that is honestly the only thing he knows about.  We even tried talking about musicals and plays, and lo and behold, he found a way to incorporate drinking and drug-use into that!!  He suggested we go see a show at my work but beforehand, get super high and drink.  I’m sorry, but I’m not paying $50 something just to get high and drunk.  So dumb.

Anyways, besides his predicted “booze talking,” the date went very well.  I enjoyed it, he enjoyed it.  It was a good night.

*Positives: He’s a nice guy, we always have a good time together, he’s great company, he’s always down for a good time

*Negatives: He totally has a Napolean complex, all he can talk about is boozing, partying, and drugs, he’s super short

Second Date?: Sure.  But as far as dating him on a consistent basis, that would never happen.  His boozing and partying conversationalist ways are just too much for me.

And your thoughts on this....

