Date #8: “Buddy”

How we met:  I’ve known “Buddy” since the 6th grade, when we were little wee ones in middle school.  We had our “core classes” or whatever together.  And if I remember correctly, I may have even had a teeny tiny crush on him back in the day.  Haha.  Sadly, after 6th grade (though he begs to differ), I don’t recall us talking much.  We would talk here and there, but it wasn’t like in 6th grade where we had class together.  We went to high school together and graduated together as well.  Since graduation, I’ve only seen him a couple of times here and there.  Last weekend though, I bumped into him on St. Patty’s Day and he was a shit show!  (Check out He Said What?!…you’ll see what I mean, it was pretty bad)  But in all his inebriation, he asked me on a date and I willingly obliged.  Plus he remembered seeing me the next day, so I’ll give him credit for that.

-Rating:

*Physical Aesthetics: 5

*Physical Appearance: 7-8

*Personality: 8

*Manners: 10+

*Intelligence: 9

*Confidence: 7-8

*Overall Rating: 7

The Date:  To be honest, I was actually pretty excited for this date.  Not because I was super into “Buddy” (because based on how drunk he was when he asked me out, I was pretty turned off, not gonna lie), but because I had been feeling pretty down lately.  Just super sad and lonely.  I can’t believe I’m even admitting that, that is so unlike me!!  But yes, I had been feeling lonely and the idea of someone paying attention to me made me really excited.  Pathetic, I know.  Even through my excitement, I wasn’t sure how the date was going to turn out, so I was a bit apprehensive about that.

So he came to pick me up, which I thought was pretty awesome considering that with all my other dates I’ve been meeting them at places (lame asses).  He got to my house, and came up to the door, and had a ROSE for me!!  How fucking sweet is that?!  That never happens anymore, and I thought it was so sweet of him to get me one.  Made me feel special indeed!!!  We went to go see a movie, 21 Jump Street which is freaking HILARIOUS, please go see it if you haven’t yet!  He tried to kiss me like towards the end of the movie, but I am a firm believer in the fact that one does not pay however much it is to watch a movie just to make out with someone…you can do that later.  So I pushed him away.  Hope that didn’t hurt his feelings too much…I definitely didn’t mean it in a rude way, just in a “Fuck off, I’m watching a funny movie” way.

How beautiful is this?!?! =)

After the movie (and actually before the movie too) we grabbed a few drinks at a bar right next to the theatre and just caught up on life.  It was really sweet, he wouldn’t let me pay for ANYTHING.  It was at the point where he started paying while I was in the bathroom.  So tricky!  Haha!  Anyways, since it had been so long since we had talked (I seriously thought it had been since middle school, apparently we talked a bit in high school…yep I felt like an ass after that ), we just caught up on everything.  He’s still friends with the majority of the people he hung out with in high school which is cool (I guess, not really my style…).  He also told me some things about people we know in common that I didn’t know before, which was super interesting…=).  I’m a Gemini, I love gossip.   Turns out, we have/had a lot of the same partying habits which is kinda funny because if you knew me back in the day, you knew what a shit show I used to be!  The one thing we most definitely do not have in common is beer choice and the fact that he enjoys Country music.  After I found those things out, I joked that we couldn’t hang out ever again.  😉  We ended the night with freezing our asses off back to his truck, him driving me home, walking me to my door, and a goodnight kiss =).

Honestly, the date was pretty much perfect.  While I’m not a huge fan of movies on the first date, the movie was so good that I didn’t even care.  Plus, “Buddy” was just SUCH a gentleman…talk about chivalry at its finest!  Most guys will just call you from their car telling you they’re there to pick you up, but he came to my door, and with a flower!  Plus, he opened the car door for me to get in and out and wouldn’t let me pay for a damn thing.  Seriously, the true epitome of a gentleman.  =)  But again, like with some previous dates that went well, I’m just not really physically or sexually attracted to him, and for me that’s the difference between a great friendship and a relationship so….

*Positives: Total gentleman, very sweet, we had great conversation, had a lot of things in common

*Negatives: He’s super short (I’m close to his height in heels), I’m not physically/sexually attracted to him, he went to my high school (I have this thing about not wanting to date guys from high school…don’t ask me why, I’m just weird)

Second Date?: Yep, I totally would!!  My only thing is is that he’s so sweet and I wouldn’t want to lead him on.  But I’m super fickle, so who knows maybe I would change my mind on the next date.  =)

And your thoughts on this....

