Date #2: “Babyface”

How We Met: “Babyface” and I practically grew up together.  I’ve known him ever since a year after I moved to CO from the best state in the world (a.k.a. Californ-i-a).  When we were younger, we weren’t exactly friends, because, you know, guys hang out with guys and girls hang out with girls.  That’s just how the cookie crumbles.  But as we grew up, we became friends and saw quite a lot of each other.  When high school came around, we ended up going to different schools and lost touch.  But, of course, with the magic of Facebook we reconnected and started talking and hanging out again.

-Rating:

*Physical Aesthetics: 8

*Appearance: 7

*Personality: 10

*Manners: Started off as a 5-6 but ended up being a 9-10

*Intelligence: 8

*Confidence: 10

*Overall Rating: 8

The Date:  “Babyface” recently moved to Denver towards the end of last year, so I drove down  to his place since I wanted to see it.  This is off topic, but it was awkward driving there since I had to pass by the place where “Box Office Hipster” (this guy I dated at the beginning of last year – loser for sure!) used to live.  I felt like I was going to his place, not “Babyface’s” place.

Anyways, we drove a couple blocks away from his apartment and had drinks at Hamburger Mary’s while we waited for a table at Steuben’s.  I had never been to Hamburger Mary’s before, but as you all know (0r maybe you don’t), I LOVE gay bars.  Love is pretty much an understatement when it comes to anything that has to do with gays/gay bars.  So I had a lovely time at this little joint.  We had a drink and chatted about life – what we were doing at the moment, what we wanted to be doing, Burning Man and how I really should go (I don’t know if I’m cut out for that shit to be honest…).  After about 30 minutes, we finally got called for a table at Steuben’s so we had to slam our drinks and run.  The bartender warned me my drink (a frozen Cosmo) was pretty boozy and that I would definitely feel it – and he was right, especially after slamming it.  So we get to Steuben’s with me already a bit tipsy and we continue to just chat about life.  Like I said previously, we grew up together, so we know a lot of the same people.  We talked a lot about how we think it’s ridiculous how people at our age are rushing into relationships and getting married and having children so fast.  It was nice to talk to someone who completely feels the same way I do about that stuff (no offense to anyone who chooses to do those things – that’s just not our thing right now).  When it comes to that stuff, we both agreed that we wanted to experience life and travel and truly LIVE first, according to what we believe is living.  Dinner was really good and we both had another drink, which pretty much put me at fairly tipsy/borderline drunk.  Towards the end of dinner, I sobered up (thank you H2O) and we went back to his place.

I finally got to see his apartment, which was a nice little place.  I got to meet his roommate and I immediately liked her, especially after I found out she has as much of a crush on Naya Rivera  as I do.  He tried making us drinks with whiskey, sweet vermouth, dry vermouth, and bitters….it fucking tasted like shit.  Initially it was fine, but it had an after taste/kick of straight sweet vermouth at the end.  Disgusting.  So I reminded him I was a bartender and made us French Martinis instead.  Afterwards, we just hung out in his room, listened to music, stalked people on Facebook (hahaha, ya we’re lame), chatted some more about life, and cuddled.  =)

Honestly, it was a perfect date.  I had a lot of fun and truly realized how there are still people out there like me who are super independent and put their aspirations first before settling down with the life that society wants us to have.

*Positives: Seriously, one of the best dates I’ve been on in awhile!  I had a lot of fun just chatting with someone who had a lot of the same views as myself.

*Negatives: Initially he didn’t hold the door open for me (big pet peeve of mine…) and at one point, the door even hit me.  But eventually he started holding doors for me and even opened my car door for me.  =)

Second Date?: Of course!!  I had SO much fun!!  The only problem is I’m not sure what he’s looking for, and I’ve still got 48 more dates to go….

And your thoughts on this....

