Date #1: “Sunshine”

How We Met:  I met “Sunshine” back in college, at the beginning of my freshman year in 2005.  I can’t believe I’m admitting my creeper status here, but I saw him on Facebook and saw that we had a lot of mutual friends from high school, but I didn’t know him.  So I messaged him, friend requested him, and asked him why we didn’t know each other.  From then on we’ve been friends.  When we were younger, we saw each other more on a consistent basis, at some points almost everyday.  I can still remember when he arrived at my house at 6 AM one morning with a case of Keystone because I refused to drink with him the night before, so he felt the need to have a beer with me that morning.  The older we got, the more difficult it was to see each other as consistently as before due to our own lives going in different directions.  We’ve had our ups and downs, but at the end of the day, we’ve always been able to maintain our friendship.

-Rating:

*Physical Aesthetics: 9

*Appearance: 8

*Personality: 10

*Manners: 10

*Intelligence: 10++ (Unfortunately….)

*Confidence: 10

*Overall Rating: 9

The Date: While normally I would consider interactions with “Sunshine” just “hanging out”, this is the first time we’ve ever gone out just the two of us.  And he paid…though I did offer to pay one round of drinks, which he accepted.  We went to a Belgian beer bar by our houses and just caught up on things.  We hadn’t seen each other in maybe over a year, if not longer.  So it was nice to catch up and have a few drinks.  Then we went to another bar and after that, decided to call it a night.

Nothing exciting, right?  Yeah, I’m sorry to disappoint you all in the fact that my first date was not exhilarating with fireworks.  Boo hoo.  But to be honest, I think the interesting thing about this entire date was not the date itself, but what happened at the end.  As we were driving home from the bars, he asked me a question (one which I will not reveal because it’s somewhat personal to myself, not necessarily between me and him).  I brushed it off and told him an answer that I didn’t fully believe myself.  Any other person would have taken this answer and been okay with it.  But no, not him.  Because you see, even though we’re not nearly as close as we were before, he still knows me BETTER than anyone else.  In fact, I can honestly say that he knows me better than some people I consider my best friends.  The fact that I told him one thing and he didn’t believe what I said one bit and called me out on my “lie” is proof of how well he knows me.  It was the one thing that I’ve wanted someone to recognize about me for quite some time now without me having to tell anyone, and he was the only one to recognize it.  I ended up in tears by the end of the night, but that wasn’t necessarily a bad thing.  Just shows that even though two people may live on opposite sides of the U.S. and not speak as often as before, doesn’t mean that they’re not still close.

*Positives: I had fun, he was very polite as always, it was nice being able to just have a drink and talk

*Negatives: He knows me FAR too well…too well for comfort.

Second Date?: I’m always down for friend dates because there is no pressure, so sure!  =)

And your thoughts on this....

